top of page

Press for The Salt

"An excellent album that’s consistently good from beginning to end."



"The new album Prairie Empire put out last week is some kind of wonderful." 



"This record stacks up well against any of the best folk records released in the last decade."

- Veer Magazine, Print Edition



Other press


"Immersive, gorgeous … stunning."

- Martin Guitar, Factory Favorites


"Holy. Shit. You. Guys. Seriously. This s/t Prairie Empire record is fucking gorgeous." 

- Folkhive


"The nights that Brittain Ashford sings about with her Prairie Empire project are ones that take you on walks that will last the duration of the evening. You'll hear the night birds. You'll feel the yellow eyes of the nocturnal creatures coming alive, impatiently waiting for you to get off their lawns so they can find some breakfast and something warm to chase. You'll feel yourself slow down to a point where you can sense everything that's occurring inside and out. You begin to speak and it sounds like an explosion so you stay quiet and just listen more closely. She's escorting you through the twilight."

- Daytrotter


"The sheer emotive power of her voice, whether it be a whisper or a fiery, crackling, pull-on-your-heart-strings sort-of-yodel, captures a pain that everyone has experienced but only few can recreate. During "Snow," Ashford's voice dances on the verge of tears... and then out of left field a trumpet sounds... I'm not sure what else this band could possibly throw in to make its live show more entertaining, and looking around the Beat it seems as if everyone else is also on the edge of their seats." 

- Las Vegas Weekly


"Brittain Ashford’s warm, unique and comforting voice is a superb compliment to these golden days, effortlessly floating (and harmonizing) over the strums, bells and plucks that populate the lovely songs that make up the album. I’ve been returning to ‘Summer Light’ to over and over today/lately, though you should really just go get the whole thing on Bandcamp– there’s not a bad track on it. Enjoy."

- SongsForTheDay



bottom of page